The Government’s Commitment to Unwavering Democracy- Pres. Ali – Guyana press room

President Dr Irfaan Ali today highlighted and applauded the “altruism and commitment” of members of the diplomatic corps to ensure that democracy does not derail in Guyana, following the March 2020 elections.

The Head of State expressed his gratitude on behalf of Guyana during a lunch in honor of diplomats at the Baridi Benab of the State House.

A large number of Cabinet members, including Vice President Dr Bharrat Jagdeo, were also present at the event.


“It has been a little over a year since many of you who are here have led, with the great admiration of the peoples of Guyana, the Caribbean and the rest of the world, an important battle… Guyana will remain in the company of the countries democratic.

The president added that Guyana would always be grateful to those who have led in the defense of the democratic principles and values ​​of the country.


These examples, the President said, cemented in his government a commitment to contribute, whenever possible, to democracy around the world.

“We firmly believe that democratic values ​​are values ​​that should never be sacrificed, are values ​​that are part of human dignity and human rights; and our commitment to Guyana is to ensure that the people of this country never again have to experience such times when the country’s democracy has been put to the test. So, I want to tell you all, rest assured that Guyana’s and this government’s commitment to democracy is unwavering.

President Dr. Irfaan Ali interacting with Indian High Commissioner to Guyana Dr. KJ Srinivasa and other diplomats (Photo: Office of the President / Aug 11, 2021)

The Head of State also assured those present that his government is an open, transparent and accessible government. As such, he expressed the hope that there will be more opportunities, despite the constraints of the pandemic, for a continuous exchange of ideas and a building of relations between the Diplomatic Corps and the Government.

“And that’s why we wanted this event too. This will be part of the function of government, ensuring that not only Guyanese people have access to it, but the international community has access to it, and that we are ready and prepared to answer any questions, any queries, and also to listen to any ideas you may have. “


President Ali noted that he had also made it clear to cabinet members that they need to be proactive. As a result, they will reach out to create more opportunities for cooperation, to achieve more results and to discuss the possibilities. This, he said, will lead to a better, more prosperous and vibrant society.

“So today I just want you to relax a bit in an environment where you can interact with the firm and continue this relationship building; we value every relationship, we honor every relationship and we believe that only by creating better relationships and understanding that we can have a better and more prosperous vibrant society. So please convey to your capitals also the best wishes from the government, as well as our prayers for your safety and that of the countries you represent, as we go through another difficult phase of this pandemic. “

In conclusion, the Chairman took the opportunity to once again congratulate the outgoing Secretary General of CARICOM, Ambassador Irwin LaRocque, for his excellent service and management over the years.

President Dr. Irfaan Ali appoints outgoing CARICOM Secretary General Ambassador Irwin LaRocque (Photo: Office of the President / August 11, 2021)

Members of the diplomatic corps in attendance were: US Ambassador to Guyana, Ms. Sarah-Ann Lynch; the Ambassador of the European Union (EU) to Guyana, Fernando Ponz Cantó; Indian High Commissioner in Guyana, Dr KJ Srinivasa; British Deputy High Commissioner in Guyana, Mr. Ray Davidson, outgoing Secretary General of CARICOM, Mr. LaRocque; the Cuban Ambassador to Guyana, Mr. Narciso Reinaldo Amador Socorro; the Mexican Ambassador to Guyana, Jose Omar Hurtado Contreras; The Ambassador of Chile to Guyana, Mr. Juan Manuel Pino Vásquez and other representatives.

Members of the Cabinet included the Vice-President, Dr Bharrat Jagdeo; Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Anil Nandlall; Senior Minister in the Office of the President in charge of Finance, Dr Ashni Singh; Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Governance, Gail Teixeira; Minister of Health, Dr Frank Anthony; Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand; Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Hugh Todd; Home Secretary Robeson Benn; Minister of Agriculture, Zulfikar Mustapha; Minister of Public Works, Juan Edghill; Minister of Natural Resources, Vickram Bharrat; Minister of Social Services, Dr Vindhya Persaud; Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, Kwame McCoy and Minister in the Ministry of Housing and Water, Susan Rodrigues.

Source link

Comments are closed.