Minutes of Vice President Harris’ Meeting with Caribbean Leaders

Vice President Kamala Harris today met virtually with 15 leaders representing Caribbean nations and underscored the importance the Biden-Harris administration places on our partnerships across the Caribbean. The Vice President made clear that the United States is committed to working with our Caribbean neighbors to advance cooperation on economic recovery, the climate crisis, and security, among other areas of mutual interest.

As part of the Administration’s commitment to continued engagement in the Caribbean, the Vice President proposed an annual meeting of this group to continue high-level discussions.

The Vice President discussed economic recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic and reaffirmed that equitable economic growth in the Caribbean is a priority. With the United States being the region’s largest economic partner, the Vice President and the leaders discussed ways to further facilitate trade and attract American investment.

On security, the vice president informed leaders that the United States would expand assistance to the Caribbean through the Caribbean Basin Security Initiative (CBSI). The Vice President discussed new funding to combat firearms trafficking, strengthen maritime security and support training for police and others.

The Vice President and leaders discussed cooperation to address the climate crisis and the transition to clean energy. They discussed ways to strengthen energy security, increase clean energy deployment, and improve resilience and adaptive capacity to withstand the impacts of climate change and extreme weather events. The Vice President welcomed the leaders’ contribution in these areas, and they agreed that our governments would remain in close contact, including at the upcoming Summit of the Americas in Los Angeles.

Leaders who participated:

  • Prime Minister Gaston Browne of Antigua and Barbuda
  • Prime Minister Phillip Davis of the Bahamas
  • Prime Minister Mia Mottley of Barbados
  • Prime Minister Juan Briceño of Belize
  • Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit of Dominica
  • President Luis Abinader of the Dominican Republic
  • Prime Minister Dr Keith Mitchell of Grenada
  • President Dr Irfaan Ali of Guyana
  • Prime Minister Ariel Henry of Haiti
  • Prime Minister Andrew Holness of Jamaica
  • Prime Minister Phillip Pierre of Saint Lucia
  • Prime Minister Dr Timothy Harris of Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Prime Minister Chan Santokhi of Suriname
  • Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley of Trinidad and Tobago
  • CARICOM Secretary General Dr. Carla Barnett

Comments are closed.